Arcwave Ion wins prestigious Red Dot Design Award

Almost three years of development, over 13 product prototypes, sold out for the first time after less than 48 hours: Now Arcwave achieves the next great step with its ‘Ion’ product launched in September 2020. The first Pleasure Air Stroker worldwide wins the prestigious ‘Red Dot Award’ in the categories ‘Product Design’ and the subcategory ‘Personal Care, Wellness and Health’.

Every year, the ‘Red Dot Award’ honors pioneering products, and this year ‘Ion’ from Arcwave is one of the winners of the renowned design competition. The jury was impressed by the first Pleasure Air Stroker with its innovative product design, which clearly stands out from conventional products for the male target group.

In recent years, the focus of the sex tech industry has been primarily on marketing and developing products for the female sex. Women became the main target group and can now choose from a variety of modern and aesthetically pleasing toys. The offer for male body person, on the other hand, is much smaller and less innovative. In general, the topic of sex toys is still strongly stigmatized here. Arcwave fills a gap in the market and with Ion has created a product that combines functionality with aesthetic design.

“Arcwave Ion creates a new class of male pleasure devices. So, starting this whole project took a big leap of faith years ago. Looking back now and seeing all the hard work that lead to winning the prestigeous Red Dot Design Award makes us very proud. We feel honoured and thankful and hope that even more male body persons will start enjoying this more sophisticated masturbation experience thanks to a design that speaks to their lifestyle as it speaks to their desires”, says Johanna Rief, Director Public Relations at WOW Tech Group.

The ‘Red Dot Award’ dates back to 1955 and is organized by the Design Zentrum Nordrhein-Westfalen. It is one of the most renowned design competitions in the world and a symbol of outstanding design quality. The ‘Red Dot Award’ is awarded once a year by an international jury in 18 categories.